top of page
  • acarmines54

Small Town. Big Flavor.

All over North Dakota you will find small town restaurants that you hear about from the locals. I decided to go try out some of those places all of them in, or within an hour drive of Minot.


Burlington, ND

Hacienda Steakhouse


At Hacienda Steakhouse you can expect a pretty good steak, and that's what I recommend you go for. The sides seem like they came out of a bag from the freezer aisle, nothing special, but I enjoy the French Baked Potato with my steak. My husband almost always goes for the prime rib, but this last time he tried the stuffed fried shrimp and they were something we said we would definitely go back for. Like most of the small town restaurants you'll find in this state, there is a full bar and pull tabs in the back


Riverdale, ND

Iron Oar Pub & Grill


I had heard really good thing about Iron Oar from some co-workers and knew I had to put this one on the list. I looked at the menu and was sold. Wagyu Sirlion, Tomahawk Steak, and Mussels, all with a patio view of Lake Sakakawea, and only an hour drive, wasn't too hard to sell my husband on this one. Iron Oar did not disappoint! We went with some friends so we got to try all kinds of food. Between the four of us we tried the mussels, which even though is an appetizer is plenty large enough for a meal, the 19 oz tomahawk steak, the 8 oz wagyu sirloin, and the prime rib, which is a specialty at Iron Oar. They also have draft beer and wine from a local winery called Wolf Creek, in Cole Harbor, ND which I had never heard of until eating dinner here. If you are ever looking for a place to go off the beaten path, Iron Oar should be at the top of your list.


Minot, ND

Los Primos


While Minot may not be as small town as the others, I had to include Los Primos Food Truck. Los Primos is newer to Minot, and one of the most authentic places to get Mexican food in the area. When you plan to go make sure you leave time to have a wait, because they make everything fresh when you order. There were many people ahead of us, and we waited about 25 minutes. It is worth the wait! They have a small menu, and everything on it is delicious! My husband and I got the Ultimate Platter with Tortas, Asada Tacos, and Elote, so that we could try it all! All of the food came out so fresh and was the best Mexican food I'd had in a long time.


Minot, ND

Monty's BBQ


Monty's BBQ is a Texas style bbq food truck located near the fairgrounds. You can sometimes find them at food truck events as well. I got a quarter pound of their pulled pork with a side of pepper jack mac and cheese. The pulled pork has a delicious smoke flavor, and you can have it with or without sauce. The sauce goes really well with the pork, because it's pretty sweet which pairs well with the smokey flavor or the meet. Their pepper jack mac and cheese is also delicious, and not super spicy. Their prices are very reasonable, I only paid $6.50 for lunch and they accept card and cash.

I also made my husband go back a few days later and we tried the brisket, sausage, and smoked turkey. Everything was amazing slathered in their sauce!


Minot, ND

Fun on a Bun


Fun on a Bun is a very popular hot dog stand in Minot. The owner also own's Saul's and The Tap Room which I've talked about in another Minot post. You will find the stand all over town, so check their Facebook page to see where the stand will be during the week. I've had many different hot dogs from the stand including a macaroni salad dog, mac n cheese dog, elote dog, corned beef and sauerkraut dog, and more. I highly recommend always trying whatever specialty toppings there are during the week, because sometimes they sound crazy, but it is always tasty! You can also get fresh squeeze lemonade or limeade at the stand. If you are looking for somewhere quick and local, Fun on a Bun is a great spot to stop.



Minot, ND

Off the Hook Seafood


Even though Off the Hook Seafood isn't a restaurant I thought I'd put it out there for those who may be looking for good quality seafood in North Dakota. Twice a month Off the Hook comes to town and parks at The Pour Farm, the best part is Los Primos will be parked there at the same time. While you wait on your food from Los Primos, go shop around and check out what seafood you wanna cook for dinner that night! You can get a variety of fresh and frozen seafood and it is really good quality. We bought scallops and crab legs the last time we stopped.


There are a few places that I was never able to make it to while living in Minot, but I've heard good things about if you'd like to check them out:



Whether you are living in Minot, or just passing through make sure to try out some of these places if you're looking to eat like a local.


This will be our last Minot, ND post, because I am now sitting in my new house in Denver! Keep checking back to see what adventures Colorado brings!

12 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page