top of page
  • acarmines54

Why Not Minot?

It’s funny when I tell people that I live in North Dakota, because most people have little to no perspective on this state aside from what they’ve seen in the movie Fargo. Minot is a pretty small city, but inside that city there are a lot of great places to visit.


Upcoming on the blog I will be sharing all of the places that can help you #travellikealocal if you would come visit Minot, North Dakota.


I’ll start out by sharing some of my go-to places around the city, my Minot top 5. These places are open all year round, so they’d be available no matter what time of year you schedule your visit (I would highly recommend coming between May and September, unless you are interested in finding out what -45 degrees feels like).


Top Breakfast Spot: Minot’s Daily Bread

Minot’s Daily Bread opened since we moved here and I am SO happy that it did! They serve freshly baked breads and other pastries, crepes, and very good coffee. My absolute favorite item here is the Ham & Cheese Croissant, which goes quickly, so get there early if you’d like to try this one!

Top Coffee Spot: The Daily Buzz

The Daily Buzz coffee is a small coffee trailer right near the Minot Public Library, and the owner Michelle is the best! She makes specialty lattes, amazing cream cheese muffins, and once you buy 9 coffees you get your 10th free!

The Tap Room and Saul’s are a hidden gem in this city for sure! The best place for craft beer and cocktails, as well as the best wines you will find in the area. The Tap Room is an underground bar for beer and some cocktails, while Saul’s is a speakeasy specializing in wine and craft cocktails. You can find my friends and I here probably about once a week. Saul’s was named the Most Haunted Restaurant in North Dakota by the Food Network!

We went to the Tap Room for my birthday on a "Family Feud" trivia night and had the best time! They had a huge beer selection, so the bartender gave us flights and we were able to try a lot more of the selection. We were so excited when we won the game! And as you can see below, Minot actually has some cool murals for photos downtown. -Liz


Atypical makes the best craft beer in Minot, there is no competition here. They make a ton of experimental beers, and I’ve never had a bad one! Plus the brewery is in a very cool building, and also opened since I moved here.

Top Dinner Spot: JL Beers

JL Beers is known for its unique burgers, fresh cut fries, and an amazing selection of craft beers. This is one of the best places to grab a spot and spend an evening watching a football game. They choose a beer to be a part of their “Kill the Keg” challenge, and if you are the person to tap the end of the keg, then you become “The Keg Slayer” and get their T-shirt. Of course my husband had to complete the challenge at least once! My favorite thing to eat at JLs are the parmesan garlic fries.

I've visited Amanda three times while she lived in Minot, and I must say that we always had an excellent time! It might not be your first choice for a vacation spot, but if you're interested in visiting the road less traveled or you happen to live in road trip distance, it might be worth a weekend trip. -Liz


Although it may be a small town off the beaten path, we have a lot more places to share for great eats and drinks in Minot, if you ever happen to pass through or live there! Follow the blog to see more of our recommendations next week.

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page