top of page
  • acarmines54

Things To Do on East Colfax Avenue

Colfax Avenue is a great part of Denver and Aurora with so many options for coffee, food, and local shops. This post is going to be about a few of my favorite places to visit on East Colfax.


Voodoo Donuts

You can see the Voodoo Donuts shop on Colfax from what feels like a mile away with it's bright pink exterior! There is a second Denver location on Broadway, and some shops in other states. They have a ton of really fun donuts and some really unique flavors. I love the Portland Cream and my husband's favorite is the Viscous Hibiscus. Definitely one of my favorite donut shops in Denver.


Denver Biscuit Company

With several locations around Denver we have eaten at DBC a few times. This is one of our favorite breakfast spots, because you really can't go wrong with a giant biscuit cinnamon roll covered in bacon, right? If you are feeling more on the savory side of brunch I highly recommend The Tomahawk: sausage, scrambled eggs, and strawberry rhubarb jam on a biscuit, or The Ellsworth: fried chicken, honey, ground mustard, and pickles. You can't go wrong with brunch here! Be sure to check their hours because they are a breakfast-brunch restaurant closing at 2 PM at most locations.


Third Culture Bakery

Mochi butter donuts- doesn't that sound amazing?! When I heard about these donuts at Third Culture I was so excited to try them! These donuts did not disappoint, in fact my husband and I were eating them for the first time and were ready to plan a trip to go back the next day to try the rest of the flavors! So far we have had the original mochi muffin, because of course we had to try the original creation of the bakery on our first visit, as well as the lemon yuzu donut, raspberry lychee donut, Thai tea donut, and strawberry cream donut. My favorite was the raspberry lychee. The dough is so soft and fluffy, it is for sure the best donut I've had since moving to Denver!



Quince Coffee House

This is such a cute coffee shop off of Colfax, built into an old house. On the day we visited Quince we weren't able to go inside with COVID restrictions, but they have a really great set up for social distancing. The register is set up right inside the front door, and you follow the walkway around the side of the house to the pickup window. While the coffee house is very inviting, I was not the biggest fan of their lattes. I had a caramel latte and my husband had the PSL, neither of them really had much of the flavor we asked for.


Jubilee Roasting Co

From our previous post you all know what a huge plant fan I am. Jubilee has gorgeous plants all over the place and I would just hang out there all day if I could! They also roast coffee beans in house and have delicious drinks. I had a Hogsmeade, which is a latte with vegan butter, brown sugar, and nutmeg. It was the perfect replacement for a caramel latte which is my usual go-to, since they don't offer caramel as a flavor choice.


Fiction Beer Company

When I found Fiction Beer Company while researching breweries to check out I just loved their concept of naming beers after books and different beer styles after literature genres. Between Liz, Andrew, and myself we tried most of what they had on tap during our visit. I really enjoyed the Damned Curious Business and Ocean of Animal Appetite, which are both sour IPAs. They have indoor and outdoor seating, and sometimes have food trucks available.


Nuggs Ice Cream

If you checked out our Denver Ice Cream post you've heard about Nuggs before, and if you haven't read that post go back and check it out!


City Floral

Just had to mention City Floral, because I find every excuse in the book to stop here whenever I can! They have some of the best selection of houseplants in the area. To find out more about City Floral check out our Denver Plant Shops post.


I can't wait to keep exploring Colfax Ave and to share more of Denver with you! If you have a favorite spot or checked out one of the places above, let us know in the comments.

2 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page