top of page
  • acarmines54

A Weekend in Billings- Brews and Views

Ever since we moved to Minot, Andrew and I would spend our 4 day weekends driving for hours to check out a new city #travelfarbycar. We wanted to go somewhere in Montana, so I started searching for cities that would be in driving distance, and give us enough time to explore. We finally settled upon Billings because I found out about their downtown Brewery Trail.


We stayed at The Northern right in the middle of downtown, which was more expensive than we usually go for, but the location was perfect for this trip. 


The best part of this trip is the downtown area of Billings is so walkable, so once we checked into the hotel we immediately headed for the first brewery. Our first stop was Yellowstone Valley Brewing. Andrew and I split a flight of 4 beers.


Hot N Tart Jalapeno Passionfruit

Huckleweizen Huckleberry Wheat- This one was our favorite!

Banshee Song Irish Red

Church Key Summer Ale 







Our next stop on the trail was Last Chance Pub and Cider Mill, where I had some of the best ciders I have ever had. I had a flight of 4 different ciders with a caprese salad for dinner. You could also get a beer flight, and their flights were well worth the $8!


Pearfection 

Apple Brandy Barrel Aged

Albemarle Pippin

Chardonnay Barrel Aged


The Pear and Chardonnay ciders were my favorites! 



After drinks and dinner we walked around town and stopped in at Big Dipper Ice Cream, and ate our ice cream while watching the antique car parade that just happened to be going on the night we got into town! 



We decided to grab one more drink at Angry Hank’s Microbrewery before bed. This brewery was founded in an old gas station! Andrew drank a pint of the Angry Hank’s Blonde, and I had a pint of their Belgian Wheat.












The next morning we woke up and went to what quickly became our go-to breakfast spot in Billings. The Sassy Biscuit Co makes amazing breakfast! My husband wanted to go back every single day we were there. I got the blueberry lemon biscuit waffles, and of course a caramel latte. Not only was the food delicious, the decor was beautiful. We did come back for breakfast the next day as well.


We left the cafe and spent about an hour walking around the huge farmers market that lines the streets of downtown. We stopped in at Ebon Coffee Collective and I had a latte, but this is the one place that didn’t even have caramel as an option! They do very delicious high quality coffee, and I just had the barista make me a latte with a similar flavor to caramel, it was the perfect drink for walking the farmers market.


We bought some honey sticks from Wyoming as a souvenir. 



Before it got too much warmer we drove out of downtown about 15 minutes to Pictograph Cave State Park and took the hike to see all of the caves. 


After the hike we went back into town to continue the brew trail, and our first stop was Überbrew for some lunch and beers. I was drinking the Pink Slip, a raspberry lime fruit beer. Andrew was drinking the Triple Berry Milkshake IPA. My husband does like to try beers that have cool names, even if he doesn’t think he will like it that much, so of course he had to have a taster of the Alpha Force Tactical Double IPA. Uberbrew also had some amazing fries, and quickly became one of our favorite places in Billings.


We continued on the Brew Trail to what ended up being my favorite brewery in Billings, Thirsty Street Brewing Co. I had a flight of 4 really delicious beers that I ended up buying some of their bottles to-go as souvenirs. 


Rhymes With Orange Belgian Wit 

Life’s a Peach Sour

Peaches of the Night Sour

Must Be Pinot Noir Sour

Andrew was drinking their German Chocolate Nitro Stout


We ate dinner at the Montana Brewing Company with a few drinks, and finished the evening off at Carter’s Brewing with a flight.


We woke up the next morning and had breakfast at Sassy Biscuit, and walked around downtown looking at all of the murals until we got to MōAV Coffee. They have a nice covered patio to enjoy your coffee.


After finishing our coffee we went for a walk at Swords Rimrock Park, which has really great views of Billings.


From the Rimrocks we went to Yellowstone Cellars and Winery for a tasting. I tried a bunch of different wines and ended up buying a half case to take home with me. The Tempranillo, Malbec, and Barbera were my favorite reds, and I really enjoyed their Chardonnay as well. 


On our way back to the hotel we stopped at Canyon Creek Brewing, and pretty much hit every brewery in Billings in one long weekend!


The next morning we woke up for the long 7 hour drive home. If Billings wasn’t such a far drive, I would have gone back there by now!

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page