top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiz

A Fun Weekend in Fargo

Back in October during my annual visit to North Dakota to see Amanda, we took a weekend trip to Fargo. I had low expectations, which were by far exceeded when I discovered how cool of a place it is! I would say it is a totally underrated city.


Amanda has visited Fargo several other times, so she will also add her favorite places to visit that we didn't have a chance to go to. Learn all about what we did in our weekend trip!


Exploring the City


Fargo had a really relaxed, urban vibe.


We had fun waking up early to walk around the city, taking pictures at all of the murals.


While walking around the city, we also came upon a really cute pop-up market! They had all sorts of local vendors. We got to sample many different wines and Amanda picked up special treats for her dog Fred.


We also drove around to lots of different breweries and restaurants on our visit. Here's some of our favorites.


Breakfast


Black Coffee and Waffle Bar

Black Coffee and Waffle Bar is locally famous for it's unique gourmet waffles. There are so many flavors to try, we ended up choosing 2 we both wanted to try and shared. Pro tip: go early, like right at opening time. We did and we got to enjoy our breakfast in peace. Once rush hour hits, there will be a line out the door!


Sandy's Donuts

It's simple, delicious donuts in a variety of flavors. Amazing!


Lunch/Dinner


Granite City Brewery

They had awesome appetizers, so we shared a few plates and had a ton of leftovers!


Alehouse

The Fargo Brewing Company is also home to one of my favorite beers- Kenny's Lemonade! I hear they also now have a blueberry lemonade version, so I guess I'll have to take another trip to ND to try it!


Beer


Junkyard Brewing Company

This place was our absolute favorite! They had so many delicious sour flavors. It was also a great place to hang out and play games and eat popcorn. We cracked up so much during a game of "What Do You Meme?" together, which I think is due to our shared sense of humor. And, don't forget to stock up on crowlers to go and cool merchandise!


Drekker Brewing Company

This place totally took us by surprise, because the day we went just happened to be their annual Drekkerfest! They had live music and some games. They debuted a Key Lime Pie beer that was amazing, and they also had some other really cool flavors!


Flatland Brewery

We LOVED their Raspberry Blonde so much that I brought a growler home! It makes a great souvenir as well that I can fill again in the future or just use as a vase. As you can see on the chalkboard, they have a lot going on!


Wild Terra Cider Bar

For the sake of complete honesty, this place wasn't our favorite of the bunch. I am a huge cider person, but I wasn't blown away. It was a cool place but I think I remember it being packed when we went.


Dessert

Silver Lining Creamery

A trip with Amanda and I would not be complete without ice cream! We went to the popular Silver Lining Creamery and enjoyed some delicious cones!






Liz mentioned above that I've visited Fargo many times, so I didn't want to leave out any of the awesome places you could visit on your trip!


Wurst Beir Hall

Great beers and classic bier hall food, as well as unique wurst sausages.

Boiler Room

I went to Boiler Room for dinner during a conference once, and again for drinks on another Fargo trip. It's underground location and industrial decor make a unique place to grab a drink.


Scoop N Dough

Cookie dough and ice cream in the same cup, enough said.


In our two short days visiting Fargo, we had so much fun! I would definitely go back to find out more about activities to do in the area and revisit some of our favorite spots. If you're looking to travel to somewhere unique, Fargo is a great place to try out.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page