top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiz

Hometown Hits: Central PA

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

Central Pennsylvania is the perfect place for us to start sharing our travels with you, because we lived there until we moved for college. Even though we love traveling to new places, our family is still in PA so we end up back there at least once a year. Every time we go back there are new places to try, but there are several places we always have to go back to!


In this post we will share our top places to visit. Future blog posts will share complete lists of all our favorite restaurants, breweries, wineries, coffee shops, things to do, and more. This series will focus on central PA, generally the area around Camp Hill where we grew up. We will also write a specific post about Hershey, PA, because there is just so much to do there! We hope that if you're passing through the area this will inspire you to make a stop, and if you live there, maybe you'll learn about new places to try.


  • Variety of delicious wine, beer, and cider

  • Casual place to hang out

Spring Gate is my favorite place to go to while we are home in PA! It is the perfect place because there is a little something for everyone. I have a glass of wine in my hand every time I go there, my husband loves to grab a beer, and my siblings love the cider. Did I mention they have wine slushies? Spring Gate offers a lot of events like special food themed festivals and trivia nights. In the summer it’s fun to go enjoy some food truck food and play corn hole and other family friendly games. In the winter it’s great to grab a drink and sit around a fire pit with your friends. -Amanda

As a vegetarian, I would not rely on the food trucks at Spring Gate. In the past when I’ve gone there has not been a lot of options aside from french fries and mac and cheese (which I love, but, it’s not really a meal), so eat before you go! Just make sure you save room for the cupcake truck! -Liz


  • Menu with vegan, vegetarian, and meat-eater options

The Mellow Minded Cafe is one of my favorite places because it has a delicious #veryveggie menu! With a variety of vegan and vegetarian options, they also offer meals for meat-eaters, and everything has a health-conscious focus! I especially love their breakfast burrito and lavender lemonade. The cafe is a colorful and relaxing space to hang out, and they also have games and coloring books in a cute nook. Just make sure to plan ahead when you’re going to visit because their hours are unusual. -Liz

I love to go to The Mellow Minded Cafe for dinner, and what is better than ice cream after dinner? Just a few minutes down the street you have to stop in to 3B Ice Cream for some local ice cream, my personal favorite is the lemon blueberry crunch. -Amanda #travellikealocal


  • Great menu of mixed drinks

Dead Lightning is a newer distillery located in New Cumberland, PA. We discovered it on a family outing last year and everyone, including our grandparents, loved the drinks! They make various flavors of rum, vodka, gin, and whiskey, and offer a huge menu of mixed drinks. I think they have the best mixed drinks I’ve ever tried! It’s a small hole in the wall kind of place, relaxed with a bit of an edge, and we had so much fun playing the games they had. -Liz


  • Locally sourced food

  • Rooftop bar with games, art galleries

The Millworks is a farm-to-table restaurant with the farms they source from listed on their menu. They brew their own beers, mix unique cocktails, and have a great wine list. This is actually where my sister had my bridal shower! In the summer there is a rooftop deck and bar, but my favorite part is that there are galleries and working artist studios. I love to grab a glass of wine and walk around looking at the galleries, or talking to the artists at work. -Amanda

This is a great place to do some shopping for gifts like jewelry, cards, art, and more. -Liz


  • Crab Pretzel

  • View of the Susquehanna River

Duke’s is the home of the crab pretzel, and in my opinion the best crab pretzel I’ve ever had. I eat this crab pretzel at least once during each visit home. My favorite part about Duke’s is that in the summer they have a beautiful patio where you can sit right along the Susquehanna River. If you’re sitting on the deck in the summer, check the Senators baseball game schedule, because if they shoot off fireworks this is a great place to see them! #travellikealocal -Amanda


  • Interesting used books at reasonable prices

The Midtown Scholar is a used bookstore in midtown Harrisburg with the biggest selection I have seen! You will find everything from fiction, nonfiction, classics, local history and authors, play scripts, and a youth section at affordable prices. I found the Midtown Scholar in high school and always loved to go there to drink a chai tea latte and study! On the bottom floor you will find a section full of art prints and books dating back decades. There’s plenty of space to hang out and study at the Scholar. -Liz


  • Great place with many options for quick bite to eat

  • Local wine, produce, and more

The West Shore Farmers Market is an awesome place to go for fresh produce, meats, and cheeses. I always stop by the soft pretzel stand and then end up eating way too many other things, but that’s because they have so many food options! I love to stop at the Allegro Winery booth for a tasting and have yet to walk away without buying a bottle. The last time we went I bought a bottle of their Merlot Chambourcin, but I’ve also had their Brogue Blush, and several others. Upstairs you will find several specialty stores and a used bookstore. -Amanda

I have to add that every time I go to the farmers market I visit the smoothie stand. They are fresh smoothies with so many delicious flavors! -Liz


  • Stock up on coffee and tea

One Good Woman is my go-to place for coffee and tea to bring back home with me every time I visit! They have so many options for both, but my favorite tea is the hibiscus berry because it makes the perfect iced tea in the summer! For coffee, my go-to is their creme brulee flavored coffee. They grind the beans fresh in-house so the store always smells like coffee! It’s also a great place to get a cup to-go and find gifts like a delicious blueberry mojito mixer. -Liz

My go-to is the arctic raspberry for making iced tea. I like to put a few teaspoons in my french press with cold water and let it steep in the fridge for at least 12 hours. -Amanda


  • Catch the beautiful views of Central PA

Flat Rock Trail is a 2.5 mile hike at Colonel Denning State Park. The hike takes you up to about 1200 feet in elevation to an overlook of Cumberland County. This hike has a marked trail, but going up in elevation can be challenging. You don’t need to be an expert hiker to make it to the overlook, just wear the right shoes and give yourself plenty of time. You definitely do not want to forget your camera on this one! -Amanda


  • Fun spring/summer activity

I think it’s really special that we had a drive-in movie theater nearby in Dillsburg, PA since they’re hard to find these days! They typically have movie showings on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings and they show two movies a night, but there’s also special evenings in which they have featured films, like the time I saw “Grease.” The first movie is geared towards families with young kids, and they have a playground for the kids, too. Tickets and the reasonably priced concession stand are cash-only. Connect your car radio to the frequency to hear the audio, or borrow one of theirs. Haar’s is a great place to go on a summer evening to catch the latest movies on a date or with friends. -Liz

 

There you have it, our top 10 must-visit places in our hometown in Central, PA. These are our favorite spots to visit every time we go back home and we hope you will give them a visit, too! Look out for upcoming blog posts about more things to do and places to see in the area.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page